NFL Announces Players Who Will Attend The Draft


Apr 26, 2012; New York, NY, USA; NFL commissioner Roger Goodell introduces linebacker Melvin Ingram (South Carolina) as the 18th overall pick by the San Diego Chargers in the 2012 NFL Draft at Radio City Music Hall. Mandatory Credit: James Lang-USA TODAY Sports

It’s one of the great sights of the NFL draft each year: A players name is called. They put on the cap of the team that just drafted them. They walk out on stage, and give the commissioner a awkward hug for reasons we don’t really know.

Then there are the even more awkward TV moments when they keep showing the guys who haven’t been drafted, even as name after name of players not in attendance are being called. This is what happened to Aaron Rogers, who was the last one in the green room for a couple of hours before the Packers finally ended his misery.

The NFL has released the names of the players who will attend the draft.

1)Ezekiel AnsahDEBrigham Young
2)Tavon AustinWRWest Virginia
3)Jonathan CooperGNorth Carolina
4)Eric FisherTCentral Michigan
5)Sharrif FloydDTFlorida
6)D.J. FlukerTAlabama
7)Luke JoeckelTTexas A&M
8)Lane JohnsonTOklahoma
9)Dion JordanDEOregon
10)Eddie LacyRBAlabama
11)E.J. ManuelQBFlorida State
12)Dee MillinerCBAlabama
13)Barkevious MingoDELouisiana State
14)Cordarrelle PattersonWRTennessee
15)Eric ReidSLouisiana State
16)Xavier RhodesCBFlorida State
17)Sheldon RichardsonDTMissouri
18)Geno SmithQBWest Virginia
19)Desmond TrufantCBWashington
20)Kenny VaccaroSTexas
21)Chance WarmackGAlabama
22)Menelik WatsonTFlorida State
23)Bjoern WernerDEFlorida State

There are some interesting decisions made here. There are 4 players on this list that I honestly don’t believe will be selected in the 1st round: Eddie Lacy, EJ Manuel, Eric Reid, Menelik Watson. All four could be, but not are by any means a lock to avoid day 2 of the draft.