Richard Sherman, Seahawks take home ESPY Awards


Richard Sherman was named the “Best Breakthrough Athlete” of 2013 and the Seahawks were named the “Best Team” of the year at Wednesday’s annual ESPY Awards.

More from Seattle Seahawks News

The awards were the first ESPYs in Seahawks franchise history.

“I appreciate the award,” Sherman said of his “Breakthrough Athlete” prize. “I appreciate being nominated. A lot of hard work, obviously, with the Legion of Boom.”

Sherman won the first award of the night in a category that included three other nominees — Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Nick Foles, Portland Trailblazers point guard Damian Lillard and New York Yankees pitcher Masahiro Tanaka.

Seattle had to wait until the end of the show to receive their second award.

The final ESPY of the evening was awarded to the Seahawks as sports’ “Best Team.”

They beat out five other champions from their respective sports — MLB’s Boston Red Sox, NCAAWB’s Connecticut Huskies, NCAAF’s Florida State Seminoles, NHL’s Los Angeles Kings, and the NBA’s San Antonio Spurs.

Russell Wilson accepted the award with a number of his teammates, per

"“Just to be up here against all the teams that obviously were nominated is truly special,” said Wilson. “There were so many great teams and we’re so grateful. We put the hard work in every day and a lot of these guys up here have been told no before.“Obviously we’ve got to thank coach Carroll for how he leads us every day. He’s so motivating and the way he comes into work, his consistency, his approach to us is unbelievable and playing for that guy is truly special.”"

Wilson was nominated individually for the “Best NFL Player” award, but Denver Broncos QB Peyton Manning took home the trophy.

Head coach Pete Carroll was also nominated, as “Best Coach/Manager,” but Spurs coach Gregg Popovich won.